Oxfordshire & Buckinghamshire Light Infantry (The 2/4th Battalion)

Research and Resources around the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry during WWI

NCOs and Officers of the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry, 2/4th Battalion

Officers and NCOs of the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry, 2/4th Battalion. James Walton is crossed legged in the middle. I believe standing on the far left is Company Sergeant Major Edward Brookss

Officers and NCOs of the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry, 2/4th Battalion. James Walton is crossed legged in the middle. I believe standing on the far left is Company Sergeant Major Edward Brookss

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “NCOs and Officers of the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry, 2/4th Battalion

  1. Kevin West on said:

    Hi there, I was wondering if you knew when and where this photograph was taken please? And do you perhaps have a higher resolution version? I look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes, Kevin West

    • alandbower on said:

      Kevin, one of my relatives supplied this to me, as the Sergeant in the middle is my Great Grandfather. I believe it was taken while they were in training in the UK. So before May 1916. I will see if I can obtain the source, and if possible a higher resolution version.

  2. Kevin West on said:

    Hello Alan, many thanks for your reply. That’s a shame about the location and pre-May 1916 date of the photo, as the man on the far right at the back bears quite a resemblance to my great grandfather. However, he would have been at Chiseldon Camp as a Lance Coproral in the 16th (Reserve) Hampshire Regiment at that time (he was transferred to the 2/4th Ox & Bucks via the 5th Ox & Bucks after arriving in France and Flanders towards the end of 1916).

    • alandbower on said:

      Kevin, I will double check. I was last in the UK over five years ago when I scanned the photograph from a collection my Uncle had. If you would be willing to share what you have, I would love to publish it on my blog about your grandfather. I’m in the process of putting together a cross referenced diary of every day in the life of the battalion. My e-mail address is now alan@authorsbower.com.

Leave a Reply

