Oxfordshire & Buckinghamshire Light Infantry (The 2/4th Battalion)

Research and Resources around the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry during WWI

Sergeant William Richard Wheeler

Name: WHEELER, WILLIAM RICHARD
Initials: W R
Nationality: United Kingdom
Rank: Serjeant
Regiment/Service: Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry
Unit Text: 2nd/4th Bn.
Age: 28
Date of Death: 21/08/1917
Service No: 201202
Additional information: Son of William John and Alice Wheeler, of Garsington, Oxford.
Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead
Grave/Memorial Reference: Panel 96 to 98.
Memorial: TYNE COT MEMORIAL

Name: William Richard Wheeler
Residence: Oxford
Death Date: 21 Aug 1917
Enlistment Location: Garsington, Oxon
Rank: Sergeant
Regiment: Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry
Battalion: 2/4th Battalion.
Number: 201202
Type of Casualty: Killed in action

Please see:

The Attack on Pond Farm, 22nd August, 1917

The Attack On Pond Farm and Other Strong Posts, 21st -24th August 1917

Attack on Strongpoints, South East of St. Julian, 22nd August 1917

The Third Battle of Ypres (Passchendaele)

His name can be found on the Garsington War Memorial, Oxfordshire

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Sergeant William Richard Wheeler

  1. Penny Murray on said:

    I am great niece of William Richard Wheeler and recently saw & photographed his name at Tyne Cot memorial near Ypres. Leave me an email address if you’d like a copy or photos.

    • alandbower on said:

      I would very much like to post any photographs you have relating to Sergeant William Richard Wheeler on my blog. You can e-mail me at alan@design-monkey.com

    • Neil Bevan on said:

      I have a nice framed picture of William Richard Wheeler. I’m hoping to find it a new home as I rescued it from a skip. I would like to give it to his relations. Please contact me.

  2. Neil Bevan on said:

    I have a nice framed picture of William Richard Wheeler. I’m hoping to find it a new home as I rescued it from a skip. I would like to give it to his relations. Please contact me.

    • alandbower on said:

      Is it possible to scan the photograph, so I can post it? My e-mail address is alan@authorsbower.com. I will also check ancestry.com for relatives.

      • Penny Murray on said:

        he was my mother’s uncle so i’d love to have a copy by email if poss. If not, where are you to see if I can arrange to get it. Kind of you to post the comment. thanks.

      • I live in Bedford. The pic is in a frame and to be fair I don’t really want to disturb it in fear of tearing as it is stuck well. I have taken a photo with my phone and can email you that if you like. I love photo’s of old times and people. There was no way I was going to let this one go with the rubbish in the skip. My e-mail is FadeCeramics@hotmail.com The photo is 10 x 8 inches and is a nice wooden 18 x 14 inch frame.

Leave a Reply

